With the next big Dota 2 tournament, the DreamLeague Season 11 Major, set to start real soon, two teams stand on top...

AW by Asura World in Mar 04, 2019
eSport News DOTA2
With the next big Dota 2 tournament, the DreamLeague Season 11 Major, set to start real soon, two teams stand on top of the leaderboards for the 2018-19 Dota Pro Circuit – Team Secret and Virtus.Pro, who are tied with 7,950 points apiece.

Having each won a Major this season and battling each other in the grand finals both times, the pressure is now on the fourteen other teams to try and win big at DreamLeague Season 11 as 4,950 DPC points and potentially, a spot at The International 2019 on the line.

The latest in DreamHack’s fan-favourite DreamLeague tournaments, Season 11 of DreamLeague will kick off on March 14 and end on March 24. 16 teams will be fighting over a $1 million purse, along with 15,000 DPC points, 4,950 of which, as mentioned earlier, will go directly to the winners.

The event will start things off with a double-elimination group stage portion where the sixteen teams have already been divided into four separate groups. No team will be eliminated during the group stages. However, a spot in the upper bracket in the playoffs await the top two teams of each group while the bottom seeds will have to play with their backs against the wall in the lower brackets.

Similar to previous Majors, DreamLeague Season 11 will have a double-elimination playoffs portion. All matches will be a best-of-three, save for the first round of the lower brackets (best-of-one) and the grand finals (best-of-five).

DreamLeague Season 11 will feature mainstay talents such as Jorien “Sheever” van der Heijden as the desk host; Jake “SirActionSlacks” Kanner as the co-host; Owen “ODPixel” Davies, Ioannis “Fogged” Loucas, Michelle “Moxxi” Song, David “Godz” parker, Admir “Lizzard” Salkanovic, and finally, player-turned-streamer and TI3 champion, Henrik “AdmiralBulldog” Ahnberg, as commentators and casters.

Valve decided to take a hold of Dota 2’s competitive scene back in 2017 by introducing the Dota Pro Circuit. Their goal was to give all Dota 2 teams a fair shot at making some money based on prize pools and to bring some stability into the scene, which would be great for tournament organizers, sponsors, teams, and players alike. The Dota Pro Circuit also made the process of qualifying for Dota 2’s biggest annual event, The International, more transparent.

There are two tournaments that are part of the Dota Pro Circuit. First are the Minors, which will feature a $300,000 (half of which will be provided by Valve) prize pool and the Majors, which will feature a $1 million prize pool (again, half will be provided by Valve. Unlike the 2017-18 Dota Pro Circuit, however, there’ll only be five Majors and Minors this year. Also, Minors now run in parallel to Majors, with the winners of the Minor receiving a spot at the partnered Major. Minors also now give significantly lesser DPC points at 500, as opposed to Major, which will put up as many as 15,000 DPC points up for grabs.

Perhaps the biggest chance for the 2018-19 Dota Pro Circuit is the abolishing of direct invites. For this year, every team will have to qualify via the regional qualifiers if they want to play in a Valve-sanctioned tournament.

Also, instead of just 8 teams, the 12 highest point-getters of the season will receive a direct invite to The International 2019 in Shanghai.

So far, only one team has a fair chance at overtaking either one of Team Secret or Virtus.Pro with a win at DreamLeague Season 11. With 4,200 DPC points, Evil Geniuses can potentially leapfrog both teams if they win it all.

DreamLeague Season 11 is just the third Dota 2 Major of the 2018-19 Dota Pro Circuit. Two more will follow. Of the two, one has already been confirmed as the MDL Disneyland® Paris Major and will run from May 4 through May 12.
Share Article:

Similar Articles


Leave a Reply